Just a continuation…

For those of you who suffer from the condition known as Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD) you will certainly understand the title. People with ADD do not transition well! Moving from one task to another requires very focused mental effort. Like the kind of effort you would exert if you were pouring hot lead into teeny tiny molds while wearing flip-flops. Seems like a reasonable comparison.

So, moving from 2014 to 2015 should not be a four-way stop in a busy thoroughfare in which you have to sit and ponder who actually has the right-of-way. This is when ADD people let their minds wander and could easily end up in the ghetto of Baltimore if not careful.

To make this transition, without becoming overwhelmed, I had to remember a few key things. That although the year has changed I am still going to be writing 2014 on checks and papers until about June. That it is still freakin’ winter and I have to chip ice and shovel snow. That I weigh about as much as I did December 31. Keeping these things in mind helped me make the oh-so-gentle transition into 2015.

Seriously folks, we ADD people really have no sense of time anyway. My calendar on my desk actually serves more as a place mat than a scheduler. For some reason my clock always speeds up 15 minutes before work and “early” is just a term that the “other” folks with Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) use.

As we continue through the winter months into a new year, I hope you will meander, stride, gallop or whatever mode of pace you like, with me and enjoy the ride through 2015 watching for squirrels and other shiny things. It might not be a straight path, but it will sure as heck be the scenic route.

Happy Transitioning!

*disclaimer*

If my grammar is improper, forgive me because my mind is faster than my typing skills. If I offend, then that is your problem because it’s meant to be funny.

2 comments

  1. Green Girl · January 5, 2015

    I have a slightly different take on ADD. You might enjoy this alternate point of view: http://greengirlsdontgetfat.com/2014/12/11/attention-deficit-disorder-or-nature-deficit-disorder/

    Like

    • sheilaellison17 · January 5, 2015

      Being middle-aged, and a nature lover, and a person with ADD who has taught children with severe ADHD, and other issues, I agree with what some of what you say. However, ADHD is real and I live it everyday. I’m an avid outdoors person, and live in the Shenandoah Valley. Take a walk in my shoes, you may also have a slightly different view. Thanks for posting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

